top of page

Brunch at Scampo

Featuring the delicious brunch offered on Saturday's & Sunday's at Scampo in the Liberty Hotel, Boston.

Steak & Eggs from Scampo Brunch Menu

 

I was recently invited to Scampo at the Liberty Hotel Boston for brunch. I was extremely excited to come in as the Liberty is one of my favorite hotels in Boston, Lydia Shire (Chef owner of Scampo) and her son Alex Pineda have quite the culinary reputation in Boston, and I was thrilled to hear Scampo started brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. I also found out Scampo is currently celebrating their 10 year anniversary (#10yearstolife), so I had to be a part of the celebration!


First off, the space was stunning. You enter through glass walled hallways filled with wine storage and are greeted by the host stand. You can immediately smell the delicious food being created inside and just want to run in and experience the deliciousness. As I walked through the dining room I couldn’t help but notice the beautiful seating areas. The large wrap around bar would be the perfect spot to grab a quick bite or one of their fantastic cocktails, the bar style seating around the charcuterie and pizza oven is the perfect spot for the curious foodie, the large cozy booths are great for cozying up for a romantic meal, and the patio was one of the best spots in Boston. I chose to sit outside on the patio because it was very private, quiet, and had a comfortable breeze.



Once I sat down, I was greeted by Leni. He guided me through the menu and provided great recommendations from each of the dining sections. He was very knowledgeable about the restaurant and gave us a brief history. I always thought Scampo was strictly Italian fare, but Leni told us how Lydia likes to pull flavors from Mediterranean and Middle Eastern cuisines to give your palate an experience like no other. This made us want to go outside our typical comfort zone and try some new items on the menu.

The menu had something for everyone with a wide variety of breakfast, lunch and Mediterranean options. For starters, they had multiple salads, including a cobb salad, arugula salad and caprese. There were Greek parfaits and bacon, bourbon, butterscotch donuts for the more traditional brunchers (THOSE DONUTS LOOK DEVINE). The last item on the brunch starters menu was Patrick’s Naan with prosciutto. This was one of Leni’s recommendations and I had to order it! It was a toasted naan bread, topped with fresh prosciutto, arugula, and balsamic reduction and sliced for easy eating. This is something I wouldn’t typically order for brunch so I am glad Leni recommended it because it was so fantastic. You could taste the char from the pizza oven, the freshness of the ingredients, the quality of the prosciutto and the attention to detail on the presentation. I was very impressed!



On to the entrees. My guest, Chris and I wanted to have a nice balance of flavors so I decided to go sweet and he decided to go savory. I ordered the blueberry pancakes and he ordered the Steak & Eggs. I wanted the blueberry pancakes because blueberries are currently in season and I knew they would be loaded with flavor. I was not disappointed. The plate had two large pancakes, full of blueberries and topped with a large dollop of blueberry whip on each of them. The pancakes were on the thinner side, which I actually prefer because the pancakes were light, and the berries really shined.



As I mentioned, Chris had the steak & eggs. I really think this was the star of the show. The plate included a wagyu skirt steak, buttered eggs with chive hollandaise, lemon arugula salad and oven roasted potatoes. I sampled every aspect of this dish and ended up eating quite a bit of it because it was SO delicious. The steak was cooked perfectly, the eggs were fluffy and loaded with flavor, the arugula salad was delicate and fresh with the right amount of dressing to coat each leaf, and the sauces really married all the different components together. I really cannot say enough good things about this dish. I left saying I was ordering this the next time we go there for brunch. I texted my family and told them we need to make a brunch reservation ASAP just so I could have it again. Yes… it is really that good.



I unfortunately did not save room for dessert after all that food! Which is too bad, because I can only assume the desserts were just as spectacular as everything else we ate. I was very impressed by Scampo from start to finish and enjoyed every minute of my brunch here. I can’t wait to come back, try other brunch items or enjoy their fabulous dinner menu! I encourage you to make a reservation and try this brunch spot next time you are in Boston!


Some top takeaway’s:

  • I LOVE that Scampo does brunch on Saturdays in addition to Sundays!

  • If Leni is there, ask for him! He has great menu recommendations.

  • The patio is the spot to be if the weather is nice.

  • Go outside your eggs benny comfort zone and try the Steak and Eggs!

  • They have gluten free brunch, lunch and dinner menus! Don’t leave your celiac friends at home.

  • Its Scampo’s 10-year anniversary so make sure to come in and celebrate with them! #10yearstolife


 

What are some of your favorite items from Scampo’s brunch? Id love to try them next time!


20 views0 comments
bottom of page