top of page

Backyard Betty's, Southie's Favorite Cookout

A brand-new Southie Spot with a wood fire grill and backyard hangout vibe you’ll want to enjoy year round.


1/2 Spit Chicken with Grilled Asparagus


 

I was invited to try out Backyard Betty’s and was so excited to check out this new Southie Hangout! Backyard Betty’s is like your favorite childhood cookout, but better with a wood grill, rotisserie and smoker to produce some of the best cookout classics and some new favorites. Not only does it smell like delicious, wood fired meats as soon as you walk in the door, but the space is also designed to grab your attention. The restaurant has a very cool retro vibe with garage doors, funky lighting and leather booths. The weather was beautiful when I went so the windows were open to feel even more like a backyard experience on West Broadway in Southie.


Once I opened the menu, I was amazed with the cocktail list. I can be a little picky when it comes to drinks and I found myself wanting to sample each and every one! I ordered the strawberry fizz and was not disappointed. It was a bright pink goblet filled with one of the most refreshing drinks I’ve had in Boston. The cocktail consisted of Deep Eddy Vodka, Strawberry, Lemon and “fizzies”. My guest ordered a beer from their extensive craft beer list. He said the list was filled with so many great beer options he had a difficult time landing on one! Backyard Betty’s would be a perfect spot for after work drinks if you are nearby since there seems to be a drink for just about anyone!



Once I had a few sips of my Strawberry Fizz I dove right into the appetizer menu and ordered up the crab cakes and pulled pork sliders. The crab cakes were phenomenal. Each cake was full of fresh crab meat and placed on top of their tangy coleslaw. The best part was the BYB sauce drizzled over the top. It reminded me of a slightly spicy remoulade sauce and it married the flavors of the dish together beautifully. The sliders were a stand out as well, as the perfectly smoked pork came on 3 mini brioche buns and qas topped with more of that yummy coleslaw. They were a delicious way to start any backyard bbq!


We moved straight into the entrees and ordered the BYB Classic Burger and the ½ Spit Chicken. The burger was one of the best burgers I’ve had in a restaurant in a very long time. It was two wood grilled patty’s with pickles, lettuce, cheddar cheese, onion strings and more of that tasty BYB sauce. You can really taste a difference in a burger when its wood grilled as it makes the meat so juicy and smoky.



The ½ spit chicken was also a phenomenal dish. The chicken is perfectly roasted on their rotisserie. The skin was crispy, the meat was juicy and it fell right off the bone. The dish also had herb grilled potatoes and the a wonderfully savory sauce made from the chicken drippings. Their rotisserie also added just the right amount of fire smoky flavor without being overpowering on the dish. It really made me feel like I was at summer cookout!


Backyard Betty’s has two dessert offerings that keep with the theme of a backyard cookout. You can choose from Smores or Strawberry Shortcake. While I am a chocoholic, I cannot pass up strawberry shortcake ever. It is one of my favorite summer desserts and I will order it every chance I can get. So, surprise surprise I ordered the Strawberry Shortcake. Let’s just say I was impressed by this large dessert! Definitely ideal to share with two shortcakes loaded with strawberries, a perfectly sweet strawberry sauce and a large scoop of home made whipped cream. I was in strawberry shortcake heaven!

If you are in Southie you need to stop and go to Backyard Betty’s! The food was delicious, the atmosphere was fun and the staff was extremely welcoming. I can’t wait to go back and try some of their other delicious offerings. I have a feeling come the winter this spot will be slammed with people clinging on to the feeling of their favorite summer cookouts.


Some Top Takeaways

  • This spot is on West Broadway and a few short blocks from the Redline Broadway T Stop.

  • The manager JP is wonderful, make sure to say hi and pick his brain for some of his menu favorites!

  • Order a cocktail. They are DELICIOUS!

  • Almost everything on the menu is gluten free or can be prepared gluten free, even buns for the burgers!

  • Come with an appetite, the portions are generous!

7 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page